My Favorite Quotes/Conversations From The Grand Budapest Hotel

tumblr_n9p1qwTbaH1qb8if7o2_250  tumblr_n9p1qwTbaH1qb8if7o3_250
tumblr_n9p1qwTbaH1qb8if7o5_250 (2)  tumblr_n9p1qwTbaH1qb8if7o1_250
tumblr_n9p1qwTbaH1qb8if7o7_250  tumblr_n9p1qwTbaH1qb8if7o4_r1_250

Tonight, after coming to the conclusion that I had nothing better to do with my time, I decided to watch The Grand Budapest Hotel- and I really enjoyed it. I chose this particular movie because a friend of mine, Kinda, told me about it. She told me that I’d really enjoy it and that it was a good movie. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I was excited to watch it because I like it when people tell me to watch something that they think that I would enjoy (Did you follow that? I’m not sure I did). I went into it blind. I didn’t watch a trailer and I don’t believe I even read its storyline either. I find it interesting when I go into a movie like that,  just jumping into it with no preparation whatsoever. It makes watching whatever I’m going to watch more… fun. I just new it was a comedy, which I found a little weird because it doesn’t give off that vibe. The title and the poster don’t really scream COMEDY!, you know? It’s more like, INSPIRATIONAL AND DRAMATIC.

the-grand-budapest-hotel-uk-quad-poster

But I really enjoyed it. It’s such a classy movie. I can’t think of any other way to describe it.I found myself laughing a lot at the facial expressions of Tony Revolori, who plays “Zero”. He was funny, in a not-trying-to-be kind of way. Also, he and Ralph Fiennes were good together. The whole cast was great. The whole lot of them. They all played their parts well. This movie was really fun to watch. It’s so unapologetically what it is, it’s fascinating. Things happen and you don’t question why they’re happening, they just are! I guess it’s like that with most Wes Anderson movies, but I wouldn’t know since (I believe) the only other movie I’ve seen of his is Moonrise Kingdom, and I enjoyed that movie as well. So it was while I was watching this interestingly entertaining movie that I decided I wanted to make a list of my favorite quotes/conversations from it. And now, without further ado, I present to you a list of My Favorite Quotes/Conversations From The Grand Budapest Hotel:

M. Gustave: I’m not angry with Serge. You can’t blame someone for their basic lack of moral fiber. He’s a frightened, little, yellow-bellied coward. It’s not his fault, is it?

Zero: I don’t know. It depends.

M. Gustave: Well, you can say that about most anything, “it depends”. Of course, it depends.

**********

Dimitri: If I learn you ever once laid a finger on my mother’s body, living or dead, I swear to God, I’ll cut your throat! You hear me?

M. Gustave: I thought I was supposed to be a fucking faggot.

Dimitri: You are, but you’re bisexual.

tumblr_na9aevNMDK1r8g7kno1_r1_250  tumblr_na9aevNMDK1r8g7kno2_250

tumblr_na9aevNMDK1r8g7kno3_250  tumblr_na9aevNMDK1r8g7kno4_250

**********

M. Gustave: She’s charming, she’s so charming.

Zero: Is he flirting with you?

Agatha: Yes.

M. Gustave: I approve of this union.

**********

“You see, there are still faint glimmers of civilization left in this barbaric slaughterhouse that was once known as humanity. Indeed, that’s what we provide in our own modest, humble, insignificant… oh, fuck it.” – M. Gustave

*********

“To be frank, I think his world had vanished long before he ever entered it – but, I will say: he certainly sustained the illusion with a marvelous grace!” – Mr. Mustafa

**********

M. Gustave: Serge X, missing. Deputy Kovacs, also missing. Madame D, dead. Boy With Apple, stolen. By us. Dmitri and Jopling, ruthless, cold-blooded savages. Gustave H, at large. What else?
Zero: Zero, confused.
M. Gustave: Zero, confused, indeed. The plot thickens, as they say. Why, by the way? Is it a soup metaphor?
Zero: I don’t know.

tumblr_n9v4nz1UCv1r1ms15o1_500

***********

M. Gustav: I must say, I find that girl utterly delightful. Flat as a board, enormous birthmark the shape of Mexico over half her face, sweating for hours on end in that sweltering kitchen, while Mendl, genius though he is, looms over her like a hulking gorilla. Yet without question, without fail, always and invariably, she’s exceeding lovely. Why? Because of her purity.

Zero: She admires you as well, Mr. Gustave.

M. Gustav: Does she?

Zero: Very much.

M. Gustav: That’s a good sign, you know. It means she gets it. That’s important.

Zero: Don’t flirt with her.

**********

Zero: There’s something I haven’t told you, Agatha.
Agatha: Okay.
Zero: We stole a painting. It’s very valuable, maybe five million klubeks, in fact. I don’t know if anyone’s even noticed it’s missing yet but if something should happen to me and M. Gustave-
Agatha: You steal art?
Zero: One picture. Anyway, we need to make a plan for your survival. Hide this. It’s in code and you might need a magnifying glass to read it but it tells you exactly where and how to find Boy with Apple. Don’t take less than half the retail asking price. Also-
Agatha: Zero, I’m a baker!
Zero: You’re a pastry chef…
Agatha: I’m not a middle man. I’m not a fence, if that’s the term. I don’t trade in stolen property.
Zero: I said it wrong. She willed it to him.

*They hear someone approaching the room and Zero hides*

Mendl: Go to sleep
Agatha: Yes, Heir Mendl

*Mendl goes away and Zero comes out of hiding*

Zero: Hide this!
Agatha: No!
Zero: Okay, but take it anyway.

**********

“For my dearest darling, treasured, cherished Agatha whom I worship. With respect, adoration, admiration, kisses, gratitude, best wishes, and love from Z to A” – Zero

, tumblr_n6tctuRIXI1qgbcl2o1_250  tumblr_n6tctuRIXI1qgbcl2o2_r1_250

tumblr_n6tctuRIXI1qgbcl2o4_r1_250   tumblr_n6tctuRIXI1qgbcl2o3_r1_250

***********

M. Gustave: Who’s got the throat-slitter?

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Quotes/Conversations From The Grand Budapest Hotel

Leave a comment