My One Problem With ‘Beauty & the Beast’

Here’s the thing, I love Beauty & the Beast. It’s an enchanting movie. But I have a problem with it that I was hoping would be addressed in the Beauty & the Beast reboot starring Emma Watson and Dan Stevens. (Spoiler alert: it wasn’t.) But, as I was saying, Beauty & the Beast is a remarkable movie. One of Disney’s finest. The characters are well-developed, and memorable, the music’s great, the emotions provoked are real and genuine (I remember feeling nervous every time the Beast got angry)… It’s a good movie. But ever since I found out that the Beast’s name is supposedly “Adam”, I cannot for the life of me figure out why it was never mentioned in the movie. ??????????????

I’ve had this in my head for years now, and the more I think about it, the more it just doesn’t make any sense to me. First, you have Belle, Ms. I-must-go-into-the-dark-and-creepy-west-wing-even-though-the-freaking-enchanted-objects-in-this-freaky-castle-where-a-freaking-giant-and-talking-beast-lives-told-me-not-to. She’s a character that’s guided by her curiosity. Why on Earth does she never think to ask what the Beast’s name is? It really doesn’t make any sense. I mean, not only does it never come up, but she also actually calls him “Beast” at one point. (Please see minute 2:11 in the video below.)

  How does his name never come up? She freaking teaches him how to read! Scratch that, she freaking falls in love with him. How can she not even once think to ASK HIM HIS NAME?

HOW COULD IT NOT BE MENTIONED?

And I feel like mentioning his name would have added a lot more to an already good movie, because, I mean, other than it being OOC for Belle to not ask his name, just think about how it would have added to the Beast’s character development. He spends all those years under the curse thinking he is nothing more than the creature he’s been transformed into. He eats like an animal, he acts like one… He basically is one, because he believes he is. Just think about how Belle asking him his name would probably make him remember a self that he had forgotten long ago (maybe even before he was transformed? I imagine everyone at that point would have only been referring to him as “your highness” or whatever).  Also, I picture the scene to go down like that scene from LOTR when Frodo asks Gollum what his name is, and Gollum’s mind is just blown away because he’d forgotten that he had anything of the sort.

So, why did the filmmakers think that mentioning the Beast’s name was unnecessary? Whether it was “Adam”, or it was undecided, or it wasn’t even talked about, why on Earth did they think that the story worked best without mentioning it? Was it done intentionally? Was it not even considered? Was it because they couldn’t seem to find an appropriate place to add that scene in? Because I have the perfect scene in mind for it. It’d happen as Belle tends to the Beast’s wounds in front of the fireplace, after he saved her from the wolves. And that would be it. Voila! Character consistency, and development all tackled in one scene, and none of them would even have to mention it again.

But it never happens. I had hopes that it would be mentioned in the new BATB movie, but as mentioned earlier, it doesn’t. Why? I haven’t a clue.

@ Disney, I’d really love an answer if you have one. Because the amount of work that goes into making these movies, and the attention to detail is great I am sure. How could this get overlooked?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

