22. Book And Pumpkins

I have no idea what I’m supposed to do with today’s description. “Books and pumpkins”? What do they mean by that?
A picture of my books with a pumpkin right next to them, perhaps? If so, I do not have a pumpkin nearby.
Books that mention pumpkins? All I can think about is Harry Potter (pumpkin juice), and I’ve already mentioned Harry Potter on a previous post.
Books that feel pumpkin-y? If that’s the case, then I have just the book:

Sisterhood_of_the_Traveling_Pants_book_cover

“The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants” by Ann Brashares. This book opened up a whole new world for me. I remember being around 13 when I first read it, and I remember feeling pretty “grown up” when I bought it. I was reading a book about 16 year olds going through guy problems and problems that felt “grown up” to me back then, I felt like I’d reached a milestone when I bought that book. I can read books like this now, I thought amazedly.
I’ve always wanted a friendship like the one in Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. To be a part of a group of friends that just let you be who you are, and understood, or, at least, cared enough to try and understand, and who were there for each other and supportive even if they didn’t understand, it was something I hoped to get one day. And they were all so different from each other, but also so alike. They got each other. They didn’t have to be the same, or to have much in common, to accept each other. More than that even, because they didn’t only accept each other, they were best friends. And I always liked that their friendship with each other just made them more of who they are. They weren’t just there for good times with each other, they were there for all of it. Good and bad times. It was awesome. I still think that the friendship these characters shared was special. It’s amazing what a pair of pants can accomplish.
I read all four books of this series and have recently found out that the author published a fifth book not long ago (or, maybe it was a long time ago? I don’t know. It depends on what you consider to be long). The fifth book is about these four girls in the future. They have jobs and they’re in serious relationships, and, they’re also growing apart from each other. They’ve all been caught up with their lives.
I was so excited when I saw that there was a fifth book published! I can’t wait to open it up and to soon revisit these characters and their everlasting stories.

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/

3 thoughts on “22. Book And Pumpkins

  1. Aw, I remember this series. I liked it too. Who doesn’t want that kind of friendship! For the life of me, I can’t remember if I read the very last book. Did you like the movies though? I did. I love all four actresses.

Leave a Reply

