18, 19, & 20: Paranormal Romance, Howl at the Moon Good, & Favorite Author

I apologise for not posting day 18 & 19 of the “Book Photo Challenge” on time, I’ve been drowning in midterms. I have 3 more midterms and then I am done & done! Booya. (Although, technically, I still have a presentation to prepare for- but that (hopefully) won’t be taking up as much time as these midterms are, I’m just mentioning this to tell you that I am, in fact, not really going to be “done & done” until I am finally done with my presentation (wish me luck!).

Now! “Paranormal Romance”. I didn’t really know what I was going to pick for this book, I didn’t want to pick a book that was sort of “stereotypical” of a paranormal romance, so, after looking at my goodreads account, I found the perfect book(s).

The Darkest Powers

The “Darkest Powers” trilogy by Kelley Armstrong. I read these books a long time ago, but every time I see them on my shelf, especially the third one, which is “The Reckoning”, I get this nice feeling inside me. The romance is quite a slow one in this trilogy. The characters don’t get together until the third book, and during the first book, you aren’t even really sure whether a romance is going to occur or not.
Also, I remember liking these books because the characters weren’t made to be gorgeously handsome, or breathtakingly beautiful in a she-doesn’t-know-it way, like most paranormal romance characters tend to be. In fact, I remember being a little bit put off, at first, by how the author described the characters, how the girl (our protagonist) seemed to really fit the description of a 15 year old girl, and how the potential love interests weren’t really described as handsome, but more like normal teenage boys. All the characters had realistic descriptions (I believe). Weird to say, but it needed some getting used to.
And I remember that I shipped the two people who get together somewhere in the end of it all, so hard. (I am trying to not mention spoilers because I can’t remember whether it was known that these two were going to end up together or not). Their scenes together had me smiling a lot, and, I remember just really looking forward to their scenes, even though, at the beginning, there wasn’t much going on with their relationship, there still was that chemistry between them that seemed to hum quietly somewhere in the background.
Another thing I enjoyed about these books was that, although there was sort of a love triangle going on, it was not a dramatic one. Like, the protagonist wasn’t spending most of her time thinking about who she was going to be with and all that. It might have crossed her mind a couple times, but it wasn’t done in a dramatic way. In a “Oh! I must know who my true love is, I seem to love both of you at once, I never thought this would happen to me! Of all people, ME! Why me? I’m not even that pretty. I do not want to hurt either of you by picking one, even though, technically, I am hurting both of you more by not picking one, and, also, giving either, or both, of you false hope.” I hate love triangles. I really do. I find myself avoiding books that have love triangles. They’re so hard to deal with! Just pick one and let us move on, PLEASE!
After spending some time thinking about this story, I’m actually thinking about rereading the third book. I remember enjoying that one the most.

Day 19 and 20 are related to each other. They are:

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

“The Fault in our Stars” by John Green. The book definitely fits the description “Howl at the Moon Good”, and John Green is (one) of my “Favorite Authors”. I found out about this book a while before it was published due to the fact that I watch the vlogbrothers on Youtube (a channel that John, and his brother Hank, Green use to talk about interesting stuff). John was talking about a book he’d written called “The Fault in our Stars”, and I remember finding the title very beautiful. I was excited to read it. And once it was released, I bought it.
When I found out it was a book about cancer kids, I was a little bit disheartened because, books about topics like that tend to be heavy and unbelievably slow. But, when I started reading it, I was surprised at how far I had gotten. I read it all in a day.150 pages felt like only 50 pages. I was flying through that book! I couldn’t turn pages fast enough, and I didn’t skip words, or do any of those tricks you do to get to the next page, because every word created an exciting scene, a profound idea, a tragic thought- it created so much! I thought this book was going to be heavy and mostly sad and depressing, but I do believe I’ve never read a lighter book. I laughed a lot, which was also a surprise for me. Hazel Grace and Augustus were vibrant, I could feel their pulse in the pages of this book full of deep-seated thoughts.
I cried a lot at the end though, but it was a good kind of crying, a crying that felt worth it. A genuine reaction.
It was beautiful.
This book is beautiful.
To summarise: “Good” doesn’t even begin to describe it, and “great” is just a fraction of it.
I do believe that John Green has created a masterpiece. Truly. His writing is honest, and this book was quite poetic. I’ve read one other book by him, which is Looking for Alaska, and even though I didn’t necessarily like that book; the writing, the words used, the ideas brought up, all of it really, were things that made me think. Things that I still think about to this day.

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/

Leave a Reply

