15. Gave Me Chills

I was a bit on the fence about which book to pick for today’s description because I wasn’t sure if by “chills” they were referring to the bad kind of chills or the good kind. I looked through my read books on goodreads (I would have looked through my actual book shelf, but my sister has developed the slightly good/annoying habit of going to sleep early and I didn’t want to disturb her (we share a bedroom)), and I decided to go with the good kind of chills. There are two reasons for this: 1) I haven’t read many books that gave me the bad kind of chills, and, 2) I couldn’t resist not bringing this book up. A book that gave me chills (The good kind) is:

It's Kind of a Funny Story

“It’s Kind of a Funny Story” by Ned Vizzini (may he rest in peace). There was a time in my life where I suddenly stopped reading novels that were fantasies or mysteries, and focused on novels that were just… normal. They were books about normal people (like me) that went through normal things that people go through (I am no exception). And Ned Vizzini’s novel was one of the best ones I came across at the time. It helped a lot with untangling a problem in my head that seemed so big at the time. And what I love about this book is the way it’s written. It’s a very easy read, but it’s also quite profound. It’s easy in the sense that he describes things (things that feel quite complicated within yourself) in a simple way. In a way that doesn’t make them seem so scary, but still makes them feel serious. He understood the monster within, and therefore, he was able to control it. He took the messy pile of thoughts, fears, and insecurities inside me and, somehow, organised them into not so big piles. What’s important, what shouldn’t really bother me, what I should focus on, what I should get rid of. And he does this smoothly. The novel comes across very lighthearted but also serious. Lightheartedly serious. Lighthearted because, as I said, he described things so simply and in ways that you easily understand, and serious because of the subject-matter of this story of his. Also, it genuinely is a funny story. And, as for the part that gave me chills, it was the last page. The last paragraph to be more specific. I remember putting down my book and just sitting down quietly, trying to absorb all I had just read. Letting it all sink in. Spending a moment just waiting for the goosebumps to fade.

I highly recommend you read this book. It truly is worth a read (if not, at least, 7 reads), and I especially recommend this book to people who are greatly pressured by school, university, or, anything really. It helps. It really does.

Also, you’ll notice that despite the fact that this is called the “Book Photo Challenge” I seem to have given up on taking pictures of my books and, instead, have opted to just get the book cover pictures from google. This is because I tend to blog at night and since my sister has decided to start sleeping early (why, sister? Why??) I don’t really want to bother her by causing a lot of noise trying to look for books that fit the descriptions of this challenge (my bookshelf is not at it’s best right now).

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/

4 thoughts on “15. Gave Me Chills

      • It was brilliant. I first read it in March time, and I picked it up as I saw the film (sorry!) and enjoyed it. Plus, I do like books that deal with mental disorders, I find them very interesting and written in a different way compared to other books! What about you? 🙂

      • I find that reading a book after watching it’s movie is, most of the time, a completely different experience. They can both be good, but in their own ways. You know?
        I found out about the book through the movie as well, although, I did not watch the movie because I wanted to experience reading the story before watching it. The movie was great, I really enjoyed it!
        And I do find books about mental disorders interesting. They fascinate me. Have you read a book called The Burn Journals? I didn’t quite enjoy reading it, but it is an interesting book. It’s about this 14 year old boy who decides to commit suicide by burning himself alive. What makes this story even more interesting is that the author of this book is that very boy.

Leave a Reply

