14. M For Mystery

“M For Mystery”. This one’s a bit hard, because most of the books I used to read as a child were mysteries (and yes, I do include Harry Potter in that category), so I didn’t really know which one to pick. I was going to choose Agatha Christie’s “The 13 Problems”, it seemed like a a classic choice. But I never finished that book (even though I was really enjoying it. Ahhh, the life of a university student. How quaint it is). But I remembered I read a book that truly fits the “mystery” genre. A book that, at first, I wasn’t sure I wanted to read, because the movie was already good enough. A book that gave me chills constantly.

shutter island

“Shutter Island” by Dennis Lehane is one of the most gratifying mysteries I’ve ever read. I felt like my brain was actually being used. It’s got a lot of twists and turns and the characters are mysterious, but not in an annoying way, but in an I-can’t-wait-to-read-your-backstory kinda way. I love it when the answer to the mystery is mind-blowing in a logical way. I read mystery novels just to reach the last couple of chapters where all is revealed. The revelation in this book was great! It gave me chills. And the fact that I watched the movie before reading the book didn’t spoil the book that much for me. I mean, I knew how it ended and all, but reading the book was definitely a very different experience from watching the movie. The movie was really good. Really, really, really good. So getting a chance to explore the characters even more by reading the book just made the whole story better for me. Besides, I don’t really mind reading a book after watching it’s movie. Usually, experiencing a story from a book is quite different from experiencing it through a movie. And when the movie is great, more often than not, that means that the book itself is a work of art.
I definitely recommend you read this book. If you like mysteries, you’ll definitely like this one. And if you’re not really one for reading, then I highly recommend you watch the movie! The movie was one of the best I’ve seen, it’s a masterpiece.

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/

Leave a Reply

