13. Beware… This Was Bad

Oct. 13th is the day I have to talk about (or type about) a book that I found to be bad. To be honest, I couldn’t think of something instantly. I rarely hate books enough to warn people about them. But then I thought about a book I had recently read and just… hated. I was so disappointed by it. This book is: the death cure Before I continue typing I would like to state that I will not be mentioning any spoilers. Nothing. Not from the first, second, or third book of The Maze Runner trilogy.
“The Death Cure” by James Dashner. The Death Cure is the third book in The Maze Runner trilogy. The first and second books weren’t bad. In fact, they were thrilling at times and there was an interesting mystery going on that made you read faster because you just couldn’t wait to quench your curiosity. The third book didn’t really have any of that. So many things were happening, and I felt like I was being lead on. Like, I was supposed to be getting some answers in this book, but all I got was a random series of events where things happened and all I kept on wondering was “Why is this happening?”, and, to top it all off, I did not get any answers to my questions at all. And if there was an answer somewhere in that rushed ending, it certainly wasn’t satisfying enough. It felt like it was all a blur. Oh, so-and-so died? Okay. Oh, this person’s here? Alright. Sure. If you say so.
The first and second books of this trilogy were, at certain times, a bit… mechanical. There were parts where I kept on questioning why things were happening because it felt like they could have been avoided, but over all, the first two books were exciting to read. There was a nice amount of un-pointless action going on, and I usually don’t like to read action. I don’t really enjoy reading about the characters jumping off a burning building or running for their lives from an explosion going off somewhere behind them, I can stomach it, it’s just not my cup of tea. But with that being said, I did enjoy the action in the first two books. It was fun to read. I got an adrenaline rush sitting down. And Thomas (the protagonist) is a likeable character. I found him easy to root for. Except for in the third book, because, as I keep on saying, the third book was just one huge “?”. It could have been better. I’m kind of hoping that they’ll change the ending in the movie. Speaking of, I’m very excited to see The Maze Runner movie! The trailer was very promising and it seems like it can go places. I’m hoping they tweak the ending a little bit (if not a lot). Plus, Dylan O’brien has been a favorite of mine for a while. I continued watching Teen Wolf because of him, and those of you who have watched Teen Wolf know that the first season was cheesy beyond compare (or you don’t really agree with my opinion on that, which is okay), but Stiles (O’brien’s character) was definitely worth enduring the first season for. And then season 3B happened and he starts (mild spoilers ahead) playing a psychopath and I just go nuts, because I just find it all exciting. The whole thing made me slightly overwhelmed.

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/ The Maze Runner Trailer:

7 thoughts on “13. Beware… This Was Bad

      • Aww haha, no worries! I have watched the film and read the books, you can view it on my blog too! I personally felt that they should have placed the telepathic power into the film, because its a major part of the scorch trials and it sets it up for the twists and turns in the trilogy but hopefully we’ll find out why they didn’t put that in!

      • I wasn’t sure where they were going with that either, I feel like it’s going to be tricky dealing without the telepathy situation in The Scorch Trials. I hope they find a way to execute the plot smoothly without it though.

      • Yes I do too! The telepathy built a relationship between Thomas and Teresa, so the whole shock he feels will be lost. However, I have a feeling Wes will do a very good job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

