12. Got This As A Gift

The 12th of October is upon us and so is today’s October “Book Photo Challenge”, which happens to be “Got this as a gift”. Now, I must admit that I was going to type about how I got a signed copy of Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane as a gift not 2 days ago, and how it was the perfect gift. But. Even though I am totally and completely  in love with the gift I got, I chose to go with this book instead:

breaking dawn

“Breaking Dawn” by Stephenie Meyer. Make fun of me all you want, but I loved those books. There was a good couple years where I enjoyed those books completely. To be fair though, I feel like I loved those books a lot because I had never read a “paranormal romance” before them. And it fascinated me.
I have no idea why I decided to read Twilight. I guess it was just one of those things where everyone was reading Twilight so I decided I want to read Twilight, too. Plus I saw that they were making a movie out of it so I thought I’d give it a whirl. I bought the first three books all at once (I tend to get a bit overexcited about some things) and I started reading and I couldn’t stop. I read the first book in a day. And then the second book in a day or so, and then the third book in a couple days. Point is, I flew through the pages. And I was freaking out about it to a friend of mine at the time, about Edward Cullen, and this weird take on vampires who didn’t burn in daylight and didn’t have that exaggerated Romanian accent (I believe it’s Romanian. Correct me if I’m wrong) and I was telling her how I wish I had bought the fourth book as well because I was too busy to go to the bookstore again (or something like that) anytime soon to buy it. And lo and behold, the next day, my friend came to school with the book. She gave it to me and I just… I remember feeling really happy. I asked if I could borrow it from her and she told me that she had gotten it for me. You know when you get this sudden, and overwhelming, feeling of happiness and you feel like you could run around and dance and scream for hours and hours and you wouldn’t get tired not even a little bit? I got that feeling. I thanked her profusely for getting me the book and she told me (I think. I could have just imagined this part to justify wanting to ignore her, so I could read, despite being so grateful to her for getting me the book I really wanted)
“You really want to read now, don’t you?”
“Yes.”
“Go ahead.”
And then I shut everyone and everything out as I begin reading.
I was so into this book, I actually tore a corner of a page because of how tightly I was gripping the paper.

torn page

I enjoyed the whole love story and the excitement of it all. Vampires and werewolves and reading about these characters’ lives. It was like reality tv, except without the reality. And I was hooked. Addicted, really. I’d be lying if I said that these books don’t mean anything anymore. These were the books that got one of my closest friends, Sarah T., to start reading books. These books got her to start reading Harry Potter. And we bonded so much over Edward Cullen, and hating the movie. Speaking of, the movies were horrible. I did, and still do, not enjoy them. It was all too dramatic and serious. Way more than the books felt. And it was the shock of the century when Sarah and I found out that Edward Cullen spoke with an American accent. The way he speaks in the books was just so… English. I think we both just assumed he was English (or possibly just forgot/ignored (if it was mentioned) that he was meant to be American). It was just another reason to add to the ever-growing pile of Why The Movie Twilight Sucks.
Also, something else I feel is worth mentioning, the ending to this book was kind of… underwhelming. I was expecting a Harry Potter-ish ending, where we’d see the characters after 10 years or something. But no. Stephenie Meyer had to end the book with Edward Cullen reading Bella Freakin’ Swan’s mind. She just had to. (It sucked, btw). But other than that, it wasn’t bad. It’s definitely not a literary stroke of genius, but; it’s not horrible. It’s what it is. And that’s not a bad thing at all.

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/

Leave a Reply

