10 & 11: Love this Quote & Obsessed With This Book

I completely forgot about posting day 10 of the Book Photo Challenge yesterday. It just slipped my mind. I wasn’t busy, and I wasn’t going through anything. I just forgot! And I only remembered as I was getting into bed, and that was around 3 AM. I didn’t really have it in me to open my laptop and start typing about whatever. And I knew that if I did open my laptop, I wouldn’t be getting any sleep any time soon. I get so easily distracted on the internet. I can’t go there and do one thing only! Not when I have so much time on my hands and no responsibilities to care about or whatever, and even then, even when I do have things to do and responsibilities that need to be addressed, I STILL spend way too much time on the internet. It’s like I don’t care about what’s good for me, but last night I did. I told myself that I needed to go to sleep because classes start soon, and I can’t mess up my sleep (even though it’s sort of already messed up, but it’s been messed up for a while now).
Phew! Okay. I need to take a step back. Alright. Here we go. So, since I forgot to post yesterday, I’ll be posting today’s and yesterday’s Book Photo Challenge together. Which you probably already guessed from the title and all, but whatever, let’s just get to it, shall we?

I’m very glad that day 10’s description is simply “love this quote”, I remembered it as being something like “favourite quote”. I’m glad that it isn’t that, “favourite quote” I mean, because I find it very hard to pick a favourite in anything. Well, no, I can easily pick my favourite movie (LOTR, in case you’re interested) but even when picking a favourite movie I feel sort of sad about not mentioning the other favourites. Anyways! As I was saying. A quote I love is: “The bravest people are the ones who don’t mind looking like cowards.” – T.H. White, The Once and Future King.
I have not read “The Once and Future King”, and, I believe, that I have also never heard of T.H. White before coming across this quote on goodreads (and yes, I had to look through my liked quotes on goodreads.com to pick a quote that I love. As much as I’d love to be a girl who could remember the quotes she loves, I’m not. I’m a mere mortal who has trouble remembering the things that move me). But I do love this quote, because there are a bunch of things that I would do if it weren’t for the fact that I’m terrified of what others will see or think of me as.

A book that I’m obsessed with is:

Harry Potter

“Harry Potter” by J.K. Rowling. I was going to take a picture of all seven books, but my sister’s in our room hoolahooping and I wanted to get out of her way as fast as possible, so I just grabbed the last book. The whole reason I started reading books in the first place was because of Harry Potter, and my mother. My mom was trying to get me to start reading books when I was 8 years old because I spent way too much time watching TV. So, to get me to read, she told me that for every “big book” I read I would get 50 S.R. (that’s about 14 dollars), and for every “little book” I read, I’d get 10 S.R. (about 3 dollars). And, being 8 and all, I was excited to get money of my own. Money that I could earn. It was very exciting for me. So I decided to read a “big book” and I chose to read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I had watched the movie, but I wasn’t particularly interested in it. So I read the book and… I wasn’t very fascinated by the story as much as I was fascinated by the fact that I read a “big book”. So I got my 50 S.R. and I went on my way. It wasn’t until after I watched the third movie (Prisoner of Azkaban, for those who don’t know), that I really started reading. I was in a bookstore with my mom and dad, and I saw the Harry Potter book on this huge display and I just picked it up and asked my mom if I could buy it. She said yes, I read it (I have no clue WHY I decided to read it), and I was amazed by how much I enjoyed the book. It was way more detailed than the movie and I felt as if I’d been reintroduced to the world of Harry Potter. And I thought that would be it, because I wasn’t really aware of the other books (the internet was not something I was a part of back then. I’m not even sure if I was aware of it’s existence back then). I didn’t know that there was going to be a four and a five and a six and seven. But some time after, I go to the cinema and there’s this trailer for the 4th Harry Potter movie, and these guys look all grown up and things look serious. Hermione’s wearing a pink dress, and she looks all pretty and all that. I ask my dad if he could buy me the fourth Harry Potter book. He does, and he buys the fifth and sixth as well. And then, I just start reading. Reading and reading. In school all I did was read (I was bullied as a child) and when I was home I sat down and read. And there was a good amount of time where all I thought about was Harry Potter. My whole world revolved around these stories and characters. And when I finished the sixth book, I was in the sixth grade. And I found out that I had to wait for the seventh book, which would be released some time in the year after. And it was the best, because I actually had to wait for a Harry Potter book to be released! And it was also the worst for that very same reason.
Harry, Ron, and Hermione were very much my friends when I was in school. It’s not like I talked to them in my head or I made imaginary friends out of them, I just, they were constantly there when I was younger. And I grew up reading and thinking about them. And I imagine it’s like that with a lot of people. More even. I mean, I still get excited talking about the books and the movies. Discussing them with people who love them like I do.
These books just helped in securing me more, I feel. My mom and dad did (and still do) a pretty great job of making me feel secure, these books were sort of like the icing on top. Or like some extra blankets in a pillow fort of mine.

Leave a Reply

