9. Currently Reading

The Graveyard Book

“The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman. As I’ve stated earlier, I’m reading this book for the Booktober thingamajig (basically, for the month of October a Youtuber, named Carrie Hope Fletcher, came up with a reading task (challenge? proposal? I have no clue how to label it) where you pick four books to read during the month of October, hence the name “Booktober”). And, also as I’ve stated earlier, I seem to enjoy Neil Gaiman’s books more when listening to him read his book as I read along. He does voices, and his words sound best when coated with his voice. It’s as if his words are spells that are the most magical when read by the creator of them; him. The audiobook I found on Youtube (the place I usually check for audiobooks) for this book is a bit interesting because it wasn’t really recorded as an audiobook. It’s more of a live-reading. There’s an audience, and that just makes the whole thing funner for me because it’s fun hearing people laugh along with you (not that this book is particularly a funny one, but there is a certain humour to it). It’s odd, I feel as if they too (the audience, I mean) are a part of the story. As if this book is a sort of stage.
Now, as for the story itself, well, I’m only still at the beginning of it. But it’s definitely interesting. I find myself excited to pick it up and continue reading. I don’t really know where it’s going to go, and I’m excited to find out.
Also! Speaking of Neil Gaiman, my friend Abeer (whom I call Abatha) got me a signed copy of “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” as a gift! You have no idea how happy this makes me. It’s like, I love the gift very much, but I also love that she just knew what I’d love. She just got it spot on, and that’s… awesome. AHH!

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/

Leave a Reply

