8. Vampires, Oh My

Vampire Academy

Hello, 16 year old self. If there was ever a blast from the past, this certainly is it. “Vampire Academy” by Richelle Mead. I had three options for today’s Book Photo Challenge, and they were: 1) The Vampire Academy books by Richelle Mead, 2) The Morganville Vampires books by Rachel Caine, or, 3) The Twilight books by Stephenie Meyer, but I instantly went for this one, and for one reason only: it represented a fun time in my life.
Most of my friends from school don’t read a lot, but for some odd reason we all ended up reading Vampire Academy at around the same time. I don’t recall how it exactly happened. Where this sudden reading craze came from, I do not know. But I think this all took place mainly because of my friend Nouf.
Nouf started reading the first book (I was already at the second, I believe), and, because she’s Nouf, she started talking about it with someone. And then, suddenly, we were all reading these books! And we spent a good time just talking about them. Between classes, we’d fangirl over the romances. We dedicated a lot of our time discussing the plot twists, and we took care not to mention any spoilers, even though we were dying to just spit it out! To get it off our chests. To discuss it with each other. We’d hurry each other to keep on reading because we had to “talk about that part”. We’d pray for free periods so that we could all take out our books and finish reading them. And lending the books to each was just the icing on top. Whoever didn’t have a book in the series could borrow it from anyone else in this book club that just sort of formed itself out of nowhere. It was a very nice experience to share with them.
As for the books themselves, well, they were fun. I (my 16 year old self, at least) enjoyed reading the first four. The fifth, I remember, wasn’t very satisfactory. I’m not sure if I’d still enjoy reading them. There’s a very good chance that I would, but I can’t really be sure of that.

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/

Leave a Reply

