5. Well Worn Read (And Booktober Book 2)

For the fifth of October (although on my corner of the world it’s been the sixth for an hour now, but I will not allow this to deter me. Besides, October fifth is still happening in some parts of the world), I am to choose a “well worn read”. I was debating on whether or not to choose Perks again for this one, but, although I have read it a lot, I opted to pick this book:

Heart of Ink

“Inkheart” by Cornelia Funke. I still remember the day I bought this. It was a rainy day, somewhere in the US, and my mom lead me and my sister into a bookstore, to wait out the rain. I was about 13 at the time (I believe) and I had just finished reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I looked around a bit, lingering most at the “mystery” section, when a woman who worked at the bookstore asked me if there was anything she could do to help. I told her I was looking for a book to read, something that was like Harry Potter, to which she replied with: “I have just the book!” (She didn’t say it like that at all, actually. It was more of a less dramatic, more awkward kind of interaction, filled with many “umms” and “yeahs”, but I thought I’d cut right to the chase). As we walked to where this “just the book” book was, she told me that her friend had read the book (the “just the book” book) and that she too was a Harry Potter fan and that she loved The Book, and I was a bit skeptical throughout our journey to this “just the book” book because I wasn’t really getting a you’re-going-to-lead-me-to-just-the-book vibe from this person, but I thought I’d follow her because I had nothing to lose by doing so (and also because I didn’t (and still sort of don’t) really know how to say “no” to such simple things). When we got to our destination, she pulled out this red covered book and gave it to me. “Inkheart”. I said thank you and we both went our separate ways. I sat on the wooden ground of the bookstore and started reading, and then when I saw a dude, who was reading, get off a chair somewhere in front of me, I went and sat on that chair and continued reading. I was engrossed in this book. It definitely felt like a “just the book” kind of book, it was interesting from the very first page! I wasn’t used to that. Harry Potter books always took a while to build up. You had to reach the part where Harry got to Hogwarts to really get excited. Don’t get me wrong though, I didn’t really mind that, I mean, they were always worth the wait. But for a book to catch my attention so quickly- it was amazing! I just loved everything about this book, and I still do. I highly recommend you look into it. A bit of a warning though, the second and third books weren’t so nice. The second wasn’t bad, but the third was… it’s dead to me. I’ve chosen to ignore the third book. And the second. But the first one is great. And it can stand on its own, there isn’t very much of a cliffhanger ending. I like revisiting this book especially, because it’s more than just rereading a book, it’s like I remember the emotions I felt while first reading it, and the thoughts I thought. It’s like an odd time machine that takes me back to my 13 year old self.

And! I’ve finished my first book of the Booktober thingamajig. Hector and the Search for Happiness, the first book I chose to read, was fun. Not my favorite book, and I doubt I’ll be picking it up again any time soon. I didn’t really leave the  book feeling anything. It was fun while I was reading it, but once I put the book down, I didn’t think much about it. Which isn’t a bad thing, it’s just… There wasn’t anything extreme about it, if you get what I mean. It was entertaining enough while it was there, but I would have been just as well without it. Although, it did have me thinking about happiness a lot (while I was reading it). The lessons about happiness he, Hector, learns are nice. They were simple things you’d assume we’d all know, but don’t really. I enjoyed it, but it was a very muted kind of enjoyment. It amused me. I gave it 3/5 on Goodreads (in case you were wondering).

The next book I’ve decided to read is Neil Gaiman’s “The Graveyard Book”.

The Graveyard Book

I’ll be reading along as I listen to the audiobook. I don’t know why, but I enjoy reading Neil Gaiman’s books while listening to him read them. His words sound best with his voice. Plus his voice just adds to the whole vibe. He sort of whisper-talks. It feels like whispers, like secrets he’s telling you about a world that’s not so far from our own.

If you’d like to join the October ‘Photo Book Challenge’, you can definitely do so! It’s never too late to join. For the list of descriptions and whatnot, please look here: https://theoceaninsidemyhead.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/books-books-and-you-guessed-it-more-books/

5 thoughts on “5. Well Worn Read (And Booktober Book 2)

  1. Oooh, Inkheart! I read that either during or after the Harry Potter books. It was so good! I read the first and second but never got around to reading the third and when it came out, I just wasn’t interested anymore. Also, the movie came out so much later that I had grown up and didn’t care to watch the movie after all. But Inkheart is definitely magical in its own way. Loved the world that Cornelia Funke created. I agree with you that even the though the second book was okay, the first could certainly stand on its own. Actually the more I think about it the more I realize how great Inkheart is. Making a mental note to show it to my future kids haha 😛

    • It’s definitely worth sharing with kids! That’s brilliant. The third book was a disaster. The story lost all it’s charm and… simplicity, and creativeness by the third book. It just became this horrible mess, like a big ball of tangled hair. And the movie wasn’t so great either. Dustfinger was great in the movie, but that’s all, and I can’t say I’d rewatch it just for him. Have you read Cornelia Funke’s book The Thief Lord? I watched the movie before reading it, and I’ve been thinking about it a lot recently. I can’t really remember what it’s about.

      • I’ve definitely read The Book Thief and I loved it! I was vague about the plot too until I went on the book’s Wiki.
        “The Thief Lord” follows the story of brothers, Prosper and Boniface (Bo), who run away to Venice, Italy. They are taken in by a group of street children who live in an abandoned movie theater – the Stella, and are led by a proud “orphan” named Scipio.”
        Even those two sentences brought back some memories. It’s definitely a book I remember fondly from my childhood. I think I thought the movie was just ok.

  2. My gosh! Prosper and Bo. Those names take me back to a time when Aaron Taylor Johnson was just a kid himself. (He now has two biological children, btw, and, I think, two step children). How time flies! I’m really considering rewatching it just for old time’s sake.

Leave a Reply

